Get a Job

It’s summer, that time of year when teens try to get a job. I know plenty of adults right now with work experience who can’t find jobs, so it’s particularly rough on teens. My first job was as a car hop at an A&W. Being a car hop is a job that still exists – kind of amazing considering how much the world has changed.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “get a job.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Get a Job”

  1. Thke first drive-in I ever saw was at Lawton, OK in 1949–a car hop came to my window and I asked, “How does this work?” She explained. I had a burger and a choc. malt.

    As family, we used to go to the A&W drive-in in Westminster, CA.

  2. A memorable summer job experienced as a teenager, popular for two important reasons, was working in the air-conditioned record department of a large discount store. This was before my home had any effective cooling device. And back in the days when 45s were popular and albums a luxury purchase, a store discount to buy records was a cherished commodity.

  3. If I were religious, I’d pray that my stepson would get a job. It’s ten years since high school. Enough already!

An open space for your story

