Favorite Character

Do you have a favorite character from a book or film? One of my granddaughters is absolutely obsessed with “Iron Man” Tony Scott. (Or possibly with Robert Downey, Jr.) For a long time, my character was John Galt from “Atlas Shrugged.” I’ve finally outgrown that. A good replacement might be fictional spy Annie Walker from “Covert Affairs.” She’s as good an action hero as Iron Man but she wears better shoes.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “favorite character.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Favorite Character”

  1. It is nigh on impossible to outgrow John Galt. I first read Ayn Rand’s “Atlas Shrugged” in 1963–it made an impact upon my life. Especially here theory of “The Virtue of Selfishness.”

    I watched the two Atlas Shrugged movies this last January. They were OK but did not do the book justice. They needed Ayn to come back and direct the movies.

    She was born in Russia and saw Communism first hand–she came to America as soon as she could get away–if I remember correctly it was 1922.

  2. Believe it or not, one of my favorite characters is a cartoon—Betty Boop. Of course, her sidekick, Pudgy needs an honorable mention, too. As an adult who grew up watching these cartoons, I sometimes infantilize myself by popping in a CD of said animated feature and reliving simpler times.

  3. If it wasn’t for the skyline, I couldn’t tell where the evening sky ended and the dark street began. I wonder if I’ll ever be done. When can I quit?

    Only when Gotham sleeps quietly, assured that they are safe. Until then…

    I am vengeance. I am the night.

An open space for your story

