Why I write

I wake up every day with a head full of junk that wants to come out. I’ve never been one to tell all this trivia to people out loud. But I like to write it down. I walk around all day composing sentences and rearranging paragraphs in my head. Very often these compositions are not about things you can actually talk about to anyone. But I like to write it down. I flop on the couch for a nap and daydream long scenes instead, which . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “why I write.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Why I write”

  1. I write because I need an avenue for release. Most of the time what I would like to write about, I don’t, I can’t, as anything written is permanent, and I’m sort of scared to put my raw feelings out there about some subjects. Like family.

    I also write for community, for advice, for the love of writing. I have hundreds of fantastic topics to blog about floating around in my head also. But if I don’t take a note, they fly out of my head as quickly as they flew in. 🙂

  2. I write because I just simply love to write. I like to express myself through the written word; be it from my own experiences, remembrances or imagination, which allows me to live vicariously through fictional characters I create. I find it so liberating and entertaining, and this is why I write.

  3. Because it profoundly enhances my enduring understanding of an art, is why I write. Writing actively reacquaints me with tools required of excellent writers. I diligently relearn writing techniques and grammar rules. Writing reinforces learning and it is interesting even though extra effort is required. Capturing the attention of readers with it intrigues me.

  4. I write because I can! I thank God I still have both my hands as I pick up my Pilot G2 07 pen. My heart starts to dance as this paper meets my plans. I write because I can!

An open space for your story

