Nom Nom

Nom Nom, the Food Expo, was uptown, in a big hotel ballroom. I drove into the back of the hotel and pulled the van up to the service elevators. I had tables, warming trays, coolers of food and signage to haul upstairs. I shlepped it all into the elevator. When the doors opened on the 14th floor, I couldn’t step out of the elevator. A man, bleeding from a huge hole in his head, lay right in front of the doors. No one else was in sight.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “nom nom.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

1 thought on “Nom Nom”

  1. Whoa. Suddenly impressing the most prestigious client I had ever provided catering too seemed meaningless. Before me was a well dressed man, not just someone who wondered off the street to die. I would expect someone would be missing him soon. I leaned over and peered into his stony eye. The earthy smell of blood was mixed with the scent of cologne and vanilla cigar. I tried hard not to look at the gaping wound. I would not panic, I told myself- but I had never seen a dead man this close up before.

An open space for your story

