Mustard or Mayo

Mmm...sweet pickles and mayo

The young clerk piling things on my sandwich looked at me expectantly. “Mustard or mayo?” he asked.

I thought about Charlie, who had always wanted both mustard and mayo, one on each slice of bread. I froze.

“Ma’am, are you okay?” the clerk said.

I couldn’t answer either question.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “mustard or mayo” or about some topic suggested by the photo.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “Mustard or Mayo”

  1. Mustard or mayo—so difficult to choose, but in my case, I think mayo comes out the winner. What would a potato or chicken salad be without mayo? How about a roast beef or turkey on rye sandwich? All this talk of food is already making me hungry.

  2. Mustard or mayo:
    What would Charlie want? Would he want half? Should I get two? Who am I kidding, I’m a mess. I am not ready for life yet.
    I yelled at the curved glass, “He’s not here anymore”, the sound reverberating back at me, an echoing reminder of his absence.

  3. I heard If you ever get stopped while drinking and driving, eat mustard to avoid breath potency and likelihood of getting nailed with DUI. If so, hold the Mayo bro!

  4. Mayonnaise clogs the arteries yet I can eat it straight out of the jar.
    Mustard means summer hot dogs. The soft pretzels my father bought us at the Union Square subway station coming home from the movies when I was a boy.
    Both are served I am sure in Heaven.

  5. Mustard or Mayo is a choice to be made at lunch time. Both add flavor to a sandwich which can be immensely enjoyed. Mayo is great, in moderation. Mustard contains turmeric and it is plant based. Making the choice between mustard and mayo is tough, but mime is mustard.

An open space for your story

