The Rotating Earth

I’m up because the rotating earth – or whatever it is that we use the measure time – deems it appropriate for me to be up. The discordant clang of my alarm woke me up in the middle of a pleasant dream about my computer. As if that isn’t annoying enough, I actually have to be showered, dressed, at in a certain place at a certain time this morning. Gah!

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the rotating earth.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “The Rotating Earth”

  1. I have never given it a second thought—this idea about the rotating earth, but now that I was made to think about it, I have to say that due to the inability to detect the earth’s rotation, my awareness of this phenomenon is virtually non-existent.

  2. She was seven weeks pregnant. Far enough along to give a glimmer of hope, but they still had to wait for the scan. Tomorrow. Twenty-fours hours away – actually 23 hours and 42 minutes by her watch – to see if her Pumpkin has a heartbeat. Why did this damn earth have to spin so slowly!

  3. If I stand in one place,I wonder if I will feel the earth moving. If I stand really quiet, and just look up into the sky,will I move with the rotating earth. Today I will try this.

An open space for your story

