Your favorite writer

Natalie Goldberg

Writing practice is an idea promoted by and attributed to Natalie Goldberg. She was recently doing a book tour for her latest book, “The True Secret of Writing,” and I snapped this photo of her as she was being introduced. It’s always a thrill to see your favorite writers in person, get a book autographed, and hear the author’s voice as she reads her own words.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “your favorite writer” or on some topic suggested by the photo.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Your favorite writer”

  1. Who is my favorite writer? What do they think? What do they feel? Who do they love? I’m always disappointed when I see them on television. Or read something about their real life. I don’t know exactly what I expected, but it’s not this. They seem so normal. So human.

  2. Ahhhh . . . my favorite writer. It would have to be a toss up between Hemingway and Steinbeck. I just love their simple style of writing. The former because he spent a lot of time in Cuba, where I was born, and he assimilated and integrated himself into the Cuban culture; and the latter because in his writings, he was able to portray with great vividness and pathos, that is unsurpassed, our unique American culture.

  3. “Roderick Ripbottom rises at 4 every morning, downs a gallon of coffee, runs seventy-five miles before breakfast, showers under Niagara Falls, writes 20,000,000 words before lunch, reverses global warming on weekends, has won the Nobel and Pulitzer, and divides his time between New York, London, Rome, and New Zealand.” Wow.

  4. My favorite writer as of late is my daughter. She is 13 years old and has some serious talent. I only wish that she had a novel out on the shelves already.
    I look forward to it.

An open space for your story

