I’m still saying

I’m still saying Let’s blow this popsicle stand and Now we’re cooking with gas and What we have here is a failure to communicate and Move your ass, preppie. These expressions have reached their expiration date, but I can’t give them up. They are better than sliced bread.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “I’m still saying.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “I’m still saying”

  1. Truth be told, I believe that we all use phrases that were popular from the time we were growing up. On a personal level, I intersperse these with some of the current ones out there. I’ll be saying Groovy, Right on, Keep on keeping on, Work with me people, Cool, Awesome, dude, True that and Whaaaat (this one in a high-pitched voice) and my current favorite, from one of Pitbull’s songs – Sicka, sicka, sow – who’s got the keys to the world now!!??

  2. I’m still saying stop. Don’t run out and leave my all alone. Alone with the memories of all these years. All the Love, pain, loss, gain. I’m still saying there is no reason to run, no reason to go. I have done nothing wrong and you have not changed. This is just a wind, just a tiny little storm.

  3. Death comes to us all whether summer, spring, or fall. The how is unpredictable but your number is sure to be called. Whether you answer or not God’s plan never fail. Get your relationship right or right along you ride alone to hell….

  4. I’m still saying No joke,Are you serious?,Rise and shine, and my friend always says True that. Why do these saying stick with us? Is is because they are easy to remember. Do they just make sense? I am impressed and want to know who came up with them?

  5. I’m still saying “I will strive to perform better with each endeavor” Because it’s a mental thought, I almost never physically utter the words “ I’m still saying” Although the words are almost never physically uttered, my approach to things and my attitude indicate what I’m still saying each day.

  6. Oh, Word Up Jones? For real? Oh snap! Don’t even go there. A few of the rather dated, and corny sayings from the 1980’s-1990’s. I still say them which makes me an old lady who is trying to be cool.

An open space for your story

