Don’t Touch That

I peeked into the 3rd grade classroom where the nurse was teaching a unit on appropriate touching. She had the kids writing a rap song called “Don’t Touch That.” Several kids stood in front performing, the rest beat out a rhythm on their desktops. As I walked into the room, the kids sang, “The toppa my head, that’s what I said, I ain’t yo puppy and you don’t get to pat me.”

Thanks to cazzycoop for our prompt today. Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “don’t touch that.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Touch That”

  1. “Dinner is ready! Miranda called out enthusiastically.

    As usual, her husband was the first one to show up and sit. Lagging behind him, at a much slower pace, was his mother and mother-in-law.

    The aroma that wafted from the hot open pots permeated the air, and Miranda evoked her usual warning, “Don’t touch that with your bare hands because the pots are hot. It’s easier for me to serve since I’m standing.”

    “Hmm . . . school cafeteria style,” her husband said grinning. “I like that.”

  2. Don’t Touch That, it is something you don’t want to do. This is what I am thinking when my judgment clearly indicates something isn’t right concerning what I am about to do. Trust your perception and follow. It will tell you “don’t touch that” when you don’t need too.

  3. The aroma of baking hit her as soon as they neared the garage.
    “Cake!!” She yelled in baby-ish delight.
    “Shortbread cookies.” Her mother corrected her, with a glint of amusement in her eyes.
    She alighted from her pillion seat, and raced up , to her first floor home.
    She knew the door would be open.
    Two minutes later, she was skipping down the stairs, left hand holding her right palm, her eyes brimming over , in wordless pain.
    Her mother had not yet switched off the ignition.
    “Oh my poor baby! How many times I have told you not to touch that oven when hot!!”

An open space for your story

