Post No Bills

Lately I’ve seen the word “bespoke” used a number of times in books and posts about web design. This word drives me crazy because I cannot figure out exactly what it means – even after looking it up. I remember seeing the sign “post no bills” as a kid and being driven crazy by it as well. Words . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “post no bills.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Post No Bills”

  1. I think what drove you crazy about the phrase “post no bills” is the ambiguity in the word “bills”. It could mean anything: an invoice, receipt, cash, or even a name! We humans hate ambiguity or uncertainty. We always need a precise or concrete answer to everything. The same thing reflects when you peek into any area of life: jobs, finance, stock markets, future prospects. The mind feels crazy when faced with uncertainty – remove it and it will be at peace!

  2. I remember seeing “Post No Bills” painted in block letters on boards that acted as barriers whenever construction or renovation of building fronts was taking place in New York, mainly in Manhattan where I used to live as a child. I also remember the assemblage of these gray metal tubes on the side of the sidewalk closest to the curb, opposite from these boards. It reminded me of a tunnel because the boards ran along the inner aspect of the sidewalk, the metal tubes ran the length on the other side, and it usually had a boarded ceiling. I remember that on stormy days, it was a respite from the rain.

    As a child, I always wandered what that phrase meant , and the other one that got me going was the one I used to see at the dry cleaners—”one-hour Martinizing.” To this day, I still don’t know what that one means!

  3. Titus was a very methodical man, he always paid for everything on the spot, usually he paid in cash. He set up standing orders and direct debits from his bank to pay all his regular payments in advance. Titus would brag that he was out of debt, and out of danger. He would tell the seller, I will pay on the nose, post no bills to me.

An open space for your story

