Billy Boy

I barked, “Bishop,” into the phone.

“Billy Boy,” boomed back at me. “How the hell are you?”

“Hi, Dad,” I said. I drew the phone a few inches away from my ear in self defense against his full-throated noise.

“I’m coming to visit,” he said. “Be there Saturday.”

“Now isn’t a good time, Dad,” I said. I . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “billy boy.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “Billy Boy”

  1. Life’s nice up here on the rimrock. I daa-aa-a-are you to come up here and get us before the wind blows you down or the shale slips out from beneath your little mo-o-o-oonkey feet. It’s our turf, man. You want my horns to adorn your walls? You wanna make a meal outta my muscles? Feed your kids? I’ve got kids too, paa-a-a-aa-l. I dare you again, over my dyyy-y-y-ying dandelion of a hide. I’m a billy goat, boy.

  2. IT’S BILLY-WILLY-WILLIAM!!!

    I screamed from the bleachers of the baseball diamond to the tall, lanky fellow at bat. He turned to me, throwing off his form and letting the bat slide down slightly.

    “Don’t call me that!” he winced, holding the bat tighter. I giggled and my sister and I held hands, watching our little William strike out.

    “Come on, Billy Boy!” The look my brother sent me was filled with enough ice to turn me into a snowman, and when he turned his attention back to the game he struck out again. I stopped smiling. I only teased him because I loved him. He didn’t have to take it so seriously.

  3. He went by William these days, but I remember the red headed terror when he was just a baby. His silly goofy smile and sun kissed freckles. He was my first love, my first real live breathing doll. The sundance kid, my little brother, Billy boy.
    Life had thrown him a sucker punch, and I knew he felt defeated, heavy with the weight of ghosts and self inflicted destruction, as if he didn’t care, he had changed so much, and I wasn’t sure how to feel.

    1. I like your writing style and the way you describe your character, Seven. The voice in the story is distinct enough to allow the reader to feel what the character is feeling after life’s “sucker punch.” This is a good story in the making. It reeled me in.

      1. Thank you Claire! I adore your site, and it’s very much a great idea and a interesting way to inspire the inner writer hungering to crawl out.

      2. Thanks Sevens, but I must clarify that this is not my site. I stumbled upon it probably like you did. I do agree with you that it is a great forum for “inspiring the inner writer to crawl out.” 😊

An open space for your story

