Clouds

I was reminded of this song last night when I rewatched Love Actually. Joni Mitchell’s wrecked soprano and her mature version of this song she wrote in her early 20s were the only realistic part of the the movie. I loved it when she wrote it in the 60s but it is so powerful to hear her sing it with age in her voice.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “clouds” or on some topic suggested by the video.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “Clouds”

  1. One of my favorite childhood memories is of watching the clouds roll by on breezy warm afternoons. I would lay face up on the front lawn and let my imagination run wild. Each fluff would slowly change shape as it floated by. Right above me was a parade of elephants or bears or clowns. As an adult, I have tried to revisit my childhood pastime, but it is not the same. The breeze is cold and the parade passes by devoid of its merriment.

  2. The ominous clouds had covered the sun and lingered in the wintry November sky. Sitting on the bed of the partly lit hospital room, Dr. Carla Mackie was trying to console Joey, who was crying uncontrollably. Mrs. Bauer, his mother, had summoned Carla to Joey’s side. The extreme anxiety was apparent in her voice…

    1. Ohhh!! You took a whole different approach with the gloomy threatening dark clouds of a thunderstorm, I love the idea and the possibilities of where this could go….

      1. This is the beginning of a short story I wrote, Sevens. Since it had the word clouds in it, I figured I’d just post it as part of the writing prompt.

  3. Because they bring good thoughts, the clouds put me in another world when I rise above them. To be in that position is pleasurable and very motivating. Flying above clouds is a catalyst for forgetting life’s lowest moments and looking forward to pleasant things. Challenges are clouds we must supersede.

  4. “….and I don’t want to come down from this cloud….” Line from a Bush song, and fitting for a permenant state of mind, Cloud 9! What would be so wrong from living in eternal bliss? To have the Gods smiling upon you, and the universe in your favor. I want to believe in my dreams, and to have things going my way and fulfilling my dreams, or to be head over heel over heel in love. The bluebirds chirping at my shoulder, the sky azure with the puffy clouds of messages and images calling me, flying high among them, so as I float through the day.

An open space for your story

