Five

“Silly child, why would you love a number?”

“It’s lucky. I like the shape. Five is my number.” She smiled placidly and propped her chin on her hand. I thought about asking her to take her elbows off the table, but I’d already called her silly, which I knew was bad parenting, so I ignored the elbows.

“Why do you think it’s lucky,” I asked.

She sidled over beside me and took my hand. . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “five.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “Five”

  1. The only thing I ever asked my big sister to bring from school was not a sweet or am small bagel with meat she could get in the school canteen we both liked eating. No. I wanted her to bring a “five”, the highest grade you could get in a Soviet school. Five meant magic for met because my sister’s face shone with pride and happiness when she announced to my parents of getting one. This number still gets first to my mind when asked of one.

    1. Sorry for typing errors. The first post didn’t work and I hurried to make another forgetting to check for not marked errors. Here is the edited one:
      “The only thing I ever asked my big sister to bring from school was not a sweet or m small bagel with meat she could get at the school canteen we both liked eating. No. I wanted her to bring a “five”, the highest grade you could get in a Soviet school. Five meant magic for me because my sister’s face shone with pride and happiness when she announced to my parents of getting one. This number still gets first to my mind when asked of one.”

  2. Thank you, Claire. I noticed some more typing errors also in the second posting. 😉 I guess they are not that important, seeing your comment and having a sense that it is still readable and likable. 🙂 Have a great Sunday!

  3. Four children was already way above the average for our upper middle class, white professional coterie. It might have been the average a hundred years ago, but not now. So when the tell-tale line showed on the pregnancy test, I took a deep breath and sat down. Five? How could…

  4. If the world’s existence was to be decided by a lottery, I would choose the number five. There are five pillars of faith in Islam, five books in the Torah, and five sacred Sikh symbols. Five is a prime number, as well as the fifth Fibonacci number. Five is lucky.

  5. Emile had practiced the passage already five times, each time sounding worse. He lay the violin on the sofa and picked up the sheet music from the stand as he sat next to the instrument. The notes of the “Air on the G string” looked foreign to him, as if it were the first time he had seen them. He decided to give it a rest. His focus was not on today’s practice, but on Mirelle and her absence…

An open space for your story

