I heard

I heard them talking at the next table. Two men in their 50s, wearing dress shirts and good slacks. They were eating quiche. I swear they were planning a murder. One said, “He has to go.” The other man said, “I agree. We need to eliminate him permanently.” The first man leaned over the table and whispered – damn! I couldn’t hear it. I  . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “I heard.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “I heard”

  1. I heard at the Deli: Two old guys, one with Einstein hair – (Oscar and Felix) were arguing repeatedly. They looked like the Odd Couple. One said, “There’s a woman in Florida who paints pigs. People pay a lot to have those paintings in their living room.”
    “Oh yeah,” said the other, “If I wanted a pig in my living room, I’d invite you.”

  2. I also heard at the Deli:
    A customer called the manager over and said, “May I make a comment?” The manager said, “Sure.” Our waitress’s shoelaces are fantastic. That neon pink matches my Borscht.

  3. While listening to the news tonight, I heard that speaking more than one language delays the development of dementia by about 4.8 years more than that of the general population who only speaks one language. If that’s the case, then I have an advantage, and I’m so grateful to God for that. Maybe I should start learning Italian now…

  4. I heard a noise from the other room as the team searched for evidence. Because the noise was unexpected, it caused immediate chaos. We had to move quickly and carefully out of the work area to escape danger and remain safe. In spite of danger and chaos, the goal was accomplished.

  5. I heard what he said. I just couldn’t believe it. How did I miss all the signs?
    “Honey, she doesn’t mean anything to me. It was just a one time thing…”
    I suddenly realize that I’ve been biting my lip so hard I can taste blood.
    Soon he will too.

An open space for your story

