November 22

Like everyone else who is old enough to remember 1963, I’m thinking back to 50 years ago today. I was in my first teaching job, just out of college. I was teaching 5th grade in Manzanola, Colorado. When we heard, life just stopped. Nothing happened for days other than sitting by a radio or TV and watching events unfold. I remember snatches. Walter Cronkite breaking down. John John saluting at the grave site. Jack Ruby shooting Lee Harvey Oswald. Jackie looking drawn. The horse drawn caisson taking Kennedy’s body to lie in state in The Capitol and all the people who filed through to pay their respects. The confusion. The pain.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “November 22.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “November 22”

  1. I was working for a large Aerospace Company in Southern California when I heard the news of the shooting of JFK. At that point the radio had not announced that JFK was dead.

    It was a Friday and they had just handed me my check for the last week. I usually went out for lunch and stopped by the nearby bank to deposit my check.

    I did not go to lunch. I sat in my office and listened while the company broadcast the news over the speaker system–we were all in shock–democrats and republicans alike. This kind of event had not happened in our lifetime. Yes, there had been an assination attempt on Harry Truman in November of 1950–they captured the two Puerto Ricans.

    We were numb!

  2. Today, November 22, 2013, commemorates the 50th anniversary of JFK’s assassination. In retrospect, it still seems incredible to me. I was only 11 years old at the time and living in NYC. I remember that I was in school that day when our teacher made the announcement. I also remember being glued to the TV that weekend along with my parents watching the solemn procession of the horse-drawn caisson topped with the president’s casket draped with the American flag; the riderless horse; the rolling sound of the drums; the overwhelming grief of the family and the crowd in general and finally, John John turning to salute his father’s casket as it passed. In retrospect, the gravity of the whole situation was a watershed in the history of America. I often wonder what would have been the outcome of the U. S. if JFK would have finished his term as president.

  3. I remember this day very clearly. My friend Bill and I were sat in his hotel room in Lincoln, England drinking beer and listening to AFN. About 9 pm (UK time) the announcement came over the radio that President Kennedy had been shot, we were shocked and upset.

  4. I was sitting on the rug in front of the black and white television set playing while my mom was ironing my daddy’s shirts. She was sprinkling water out of a large green wine bottle with a spritzer on top. Steam rose into the air as the iron met the water droplets sliding easily across the white cotton material. I was fascinated by the rising smoke and was disappointed when she stopped suddenly and picked me up in her arms squeezing me tightly. She sat down in the comfy chair next to the tv set turning me around in her lap and stared at the man speaking. The tears rolling down her cheeks mimicked the man’s as he stated, “From Dallas, Texas, the Flash apparently official, President Kennedy died at 1:00 p.m. Central Standard Time; 2:00 Eastern Standard Time, some 38 minutes ago.”

  5. November 22, a day of reflection, rekindles emotions. On that day a man with a desire to ameliorate the world, as we knew it, lost his life in Texas. It was the middle of the day and near the end of the lunch period when we all heard the news.

An open space for your story

