That Lingering Cough

That damn lingering cough gave me away. Hunched behind a gravestone, unseen and safe, my throat spasmed and no amount of will power could keep the cough from burbling out of me.

I ran. Through trees, across graves, behind stone angels. I ran until I felt safe enough to look behind me. Then I saw . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “that lingering cough.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “That Lingering Cough”

  1. “It’s just a lingering cough, “ he would say during those moments when we could not hide a concerned glance.

    But he could see it in our eyes. We knew, just as well as Danny, that no common cold could produce such a soul shaking cough……

  2. I just stop by to let you know I love your page and I had a good time reading it. I’m glad that my friend emailed me the link to this blog. I just bookmarked this blog and I hope your next one is going to be about the same topic again I’m looking for ward to it. One thing I want to add is I like your writting style.

  3. You could hear a pin drop in the opera house. The virtuosic violinist was halfway through executing the beautiful solo violin piece, Méditation, from the opera Thäis when the man sitting behind Karielle started to cough, totally disrupting her rapturous state. He had been coughing since the start of the performance, but did it have to happen now? Really?

    “Do you mind taking that outside?” she said, turning and glowering at him. Just before he was able to answer, his lingering cough returned, and he quickly placed a handkerchief over his mouth, stood up and darted towards the nearest exit. Thank God for little favors…

An open space for your story

