I Left My Heart

I left my heart in the mountains, a place of steep pine clad hills, granite outcroppings and falling water. Loving a place like that and living in it are two different things, aren’t they? Living in it means too little oxygen and too far to the grocery store or the hospital. But looking at? Now that’s pure pleasure.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “I left my heart.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “I Left My Heart”

  1. At dawn I left my heart at our cemetery and walked away, free at last, not even looking back at crooked headstones with long-buried lovers’ inscriptions. Turning, I inadvertently strode through ghostly cobwebs, a sticky tangle yanking me back. Damn you, clingy Heart! I murdered you, time to let go!

  2. At the mall’s “stuffed bear-making” store, I picked out my bear’s “skin”. The salesgirl told me to select a heart to put in it before stuffing. I thought I did. Stuffed, she gave me my bear. It was then I noticed I’d left my heart outside the heart box.

  3. On a bright new sun-washed morning,a ten year old skipped an a narrow pathway in a wooded yard,dense with overgrown vegetation, sparrows and mynahs twittering in the guava and mango trees over head, air thickly laden with the sweet smell of wildflowers.She picked flowers as she walked the slippery path,dew from the vegetation wetting her fingers, she laughed as she sprayed the moisture onto her siblings’ backs.A joyous anticipation of the festivities ahead filled her as she watched a wasp lazily flying towards the sun, caught in a sunbeam, as if in slow motion.Like lot of other people I realized, i had left my heart in my carefree childhood memories….

  4. I Left My Heart in the greatest city in the world. It is a great place to be from and, it’s great to live there. Although I don’t live there anymore, the place it has taken in our culture and history will make anyone proud to be part of it.

  5. I didn’t know it at the time, but I left my heart on a tropical island when my parents picked up and sought refuge in the United States. I had no say or vote in this decision. It was a time of political turmoil and uncertainly, something that I came to understand only as an adult.

    At the time, it was an adventure for me. In retrospect, I now understand how traumatic it was for my parents. A different culture, a different language, a total upheaval, but in the long run, we have been blessed. To this day, I still feel that you can take the girl out of the island, but you can’t take the island out of the girl…

An open space for your story

