Please RT

This thing on the Internet – I saw it early this morning – it said please RT. I figured that meant please read tonight, so I’ve been waiting all day to read it. So, I finally read it just now (because it’s night) and I don’t see what the big deal is. Why wait, is what I thought. I’m going to ignore any other RT orders from my friends.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “please RT.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

9 thoughts on “Please RT”

  1. Left a comment and received “Sorry this could not be posted.” It was brilliant of course.

    On Tue, Mar 4, 2014 at 8:15 AM, First 50 Words – Writing Prompts for

    1. Sorry, Naomi, I don’t know why that happened and with this being a wordpress.com blog rather than one hosted on my own server I can’t look in the spam queue to see what WordPress didn’t like about it.

  2. “Please RT.” It could mean anything from” please return the ticket’ to please” remain there”(which can be of the same league as’ stay there’ as spoken to our canine best friends). This can also have a trigger effect on shopaholics who can mistake it for “retail therapy”. In medical parlance , RT has the sinister meaning of radio therapy, mostly given for residual cancers and is definitely not a polite thing to receive in one’s inbox.

  3. Please RT if it’s informative or educational for you and others. In my world RT is a request to resend a tweet. Tweets should meet the significance criteria prior to being resent. Anything resent on twitter should be informative and educational in the judgment of the sender. RT equals knowledge.

  4. Good morning class! Today we are going to continue learning the alphabet, shall we? Repeat after me, please: RT. Wait a minute! It seems one letter is missing here, yes the “snake” one, right? The “S”. Let’s correct that, please! RST. Well, I should stop using twitter for awhile. 🙂

  5. Rico Torricelli was walking towards his motorcycle in the parking garage. He walked with a certain swagger that a lot of neighborhood girls found sexy and virile, and he knew it. He charmed with his smile and green eyes but above all, he was a gentleman. The rumor was that he certainly knew how to treat a woman.

    “Hey, RT!” His older brother’s voice boomed in the partly empty garage.

    “Hey, Vinnie!” He turned and started walking towards his brother.

    “I need a fave, bro. Can you gimme a lift to pick up my wheels? I have a heavy date tonight.”

    “Sure thing, Vin. Would you like to borrow my Harley instead? More cozy in a two-seater than a car.”

    “You’re too much, RT, just too much,” Vinnie said, shaking his head as they walked towards the bike.

An open space for your story

