National Holiday

There is no National Holiday in the U.S. in honor of a woman. We need some. I suppose the person being honored should have passed away before they get the holiday named in their honor. That leaves out some women who I think deserve it like Gloria Steinem. But how about Rosa Parks or Rachel Carson? Or someone else? Who?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “National Holiday.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “National Holiday”

  1. It’s a National Holiday tomorrow and I am happy. I really don’t know the name of the holiday but I know its a day that I won’t go to work. My alarm clock won’t ring and I will sleep till noon. I have no one to drink wine with and complain about the weather.

  2. Where do I vote? Ida B. Wells-Barnett, as activist in black civil rights and women’s rights, her outspokenness spanned two centuries. Early professional in 19th, her newspaper raised consciousness worldwide about lynching in South, continued into 20th. Founded first black women’s civic organization; worked for urban reform. One of first married women to keep own name along with spouse’s. March 2015: Ida B. Wells-Barnett remembered!

  3. After four decades on this earth, I’m ashamed to admit I never realized that we have no national holidays in honor of a woman. And it really is too bad, when you think about the many many woman who are deserving of this honor. Sad.

  4. National holidays are glorious days. The kids are at home and so is the better half .Mornings are not rushed and one can afford to linger on one’s coffee. Breakfasts are late affairs and almost invariably metamorphose into brunches. An idle game of cross word on the sun washed balcony completes the day. My cup of happiness threatens to spill over…….

  5. There may not be a National Holiday attributed to one specific woman at the current time, but I do believe that Mother’s Day could be considered a National Holiday for women in general, well, at least for those who have been blessed with bringing forth new life into the world. I guess it’s the closest thing we have that celebrates womanhood.

    1. Oh, Claire, so many women, caring ones, would be left out if we limited womanhood to mothers. I’m saying this as a mom and grandma who has been inspired by so many who took a different path. How about Shirley Chisholm…there’s a beautiful new U.S. postage stamp honoring her– the first black woman to run for President. Please join me to celebrate ALL women right now in March, Women’s History Month.

An open space for your story

