Wow, thanks

A pause today to say WOW! Thanks! to those of you who stop by to write the beginning of something with me here at First 50 Words. I’m constantly impressed and delighted by the variety and creativity of the comments to my writing prompts. I appreciate you as a reader and as a writer. Thanks for being here.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “wow, thanks.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

12 thoughts on “Wow, thanks”

  1. I was strolling through a beautiful flower-strewn field, towards a brilliant white light.

    As if a cloud was looming above, a voice seemed to come from afar shouting. Wake Up! John come back!

    I opened my eyes. You were dead we saved your life.

    Wow, thanks, I murmured. Very unsure.

  2. We are the ones who should be exclaiming “Wow, thanks” at an oppurtunity to scribble down the fo the first few words that comes to the mind whenever a new topic is posted. Thanks indeed, first 50 , for keeping our thinking machinery well oiled and functional. It is a fun thing to do when the kids have gone to school and the clamour of the morning has settled down. One I look forward to. In fact , the days there are no new posts are the most disappointing days. Once again, wow, thanks

    1. pampapam2, sorry to disappoint when I sometimes miss a day. Life gets in the way now and then. There are years of prompts on the blog, so you can dig through the archives for old prompts that strike your fancy and let one of them spark your writing. Just write.

  3. Wow, thanks for the vote of appreciation! I have to agree with pampapam2’s comment since posting on a daily basis to the prompts provided is one of the best exercises in writing, and at times, have found that these prompts can lead to the development of a short story. I find this mini “brain dump” to be mentally stimulating and fun. Thanks, First 50 Words!

  4. Wow thanks, is the first thought that came to my mind, when thinking of my middle school social studies teacher. At a critical time in my life, this teacher introduced me to critical thinking when the word was not used often. Wow thanks, for the essay test format we had.

An open space for your story

