Over the Hill

A rugged hill separated the main city from my village. The river was over the hill where the smart people settled. That’s where the highway ran, where the railroad tracks were laid. Here, on my side of the hill, there were only decaying mobile homes, rusting cars permanently abandoned in back yards, and dusty patches of weedy grass.

I was determined to . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “over the hill.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Over the Hill”

  1. The desert spread out in every direction, we were travelling along the well trod spice routes, to trade for valuable silks and spices. Fierce winds, sand piled on sand forming dunes that masked the rocky terrain. Our water supplies were low, we hoped an oasis was just over the hill~~~~~~

  2. I was determined to rise above the poverty around me … I knew I had potential. It was a fire burning in my chest with absolutely no outlet. I didn’t know what I could do, what I was skilled at. I was good at one thing… surviving. But unfortunately, I was also good at hiding. From myself, from my friends, from the parents who barely acknowledged me. And it didn’t stop there… At some point I’d have to show up. To Life. And damn the consequences. If I could just get through today…

  3. As the jeep went over the hill, we encountered a magnificent view of a stretch of virgin beach. We stopped by the side of the road and admired the diaphanous water with its low crested waves. It seemed to be beckoning us to jump in and cool off. It was then that we turned to each other and, without uttering a word, knew where we were going to spend the rest of the afternoon.

  4. The road snaked and hugged the hillside as it went round and round up.It wound its way around , disappearing around the bends, the air becoming colder and colder.The hillside wood was now full of deodars and pine instead of the usual mango and banyan trees.At one point , we disembarked and climbed on the parapet to view the wooded valley, dense with vegetation….

An open space for your story

