Black

My weekend was filled with two TV shows with black in the name. There was all the watching, then all the writing about what I watched for my pop culture blog. I’ll keep writing for days about one of them, and already have two posts waiting for publication later this week. Was there any fodder for your writing this weekend?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “black.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

15 thoughts on “Black”

  1. A. The sirens blared ominously as I grasped the handle of the storm cellar door. I looked back over my shoulder at the black funnel cloud that spun toward my grandfather’s house. Grandpa should have been back by now, I worried.

  2. The sirens blared ominously as I grasped the metal handle of the storm cellar door. I looked back over my shoulder at the black funnel cloud that spun across the wheat fields toward my grandfather’s house. Grandpa should have been back from the seed store by now, I worried.

  3. My laptop screen suddenly went black because the stupid hard drive overheated. I’m working too hard, that must be it. Time for a different type of black. Hm…the melted goodness of a biscuit smothered in plain chocolate…dunked into a steaming cuppa.

  4. Walking into a gasoline station at 1 am is never fun. But if I didn’t buy some coffee I’d be a hazard on to myself and others. I try to travel late so that I don’t have to deal with people. I guess you could say I’m empathic… in a major way. More than an inconvenience, at times it’s downright debilitating. But tonight, I felt something wrong the moment I crossed onto the linoleum floor and the smell of burnt coffee, hotdogs, and Lysol hit me like a bat. A black energy was humming near the nachos – and it wasn’t the Velveeta. All I could see was a guy in a suit. Expensive and shiny. I narrowed my eyes when he looked up and noticed me. Oh yeah, this guy wasn’t human.

  5. Some sort of an alarm in her head jerked her awake. There was a dark curtain of black around. The eerie, darkness of a lonely night. A strange dread seeped into her, like a thick viscous tarry fluid , it filled her with a terrible premonition, a sinking of the pit of the stomach, a wild emotion choking her , the frozen dread escaping from her lips into a high pitched scream……….

  6. Coming down the stairs half asleep, Solange noticed that it was darker than usual for that time of the morning. This realization snapped her out of her somnolence. She headed to the bay window and lifted the blinds. It was dark. The sky was cloudless and devoid of stars but almost black. She felt a sudden chill and quickly lowered the blinds. As she made the sign of the cross, she had a feeling that today would not augur well…

  7. In the deep black void of Space there is empty light. Light with the light removed becomes black. Eyes can become adapted to responding to shapes in the black void of Space. Sight leaves a black veil that can become blinded by the light. Blurred by the brilliance. Black then is safe, light is pollution.

An open space for your story

