YMCA

The only place I could afford to live was the YMCA. I was determined to work my way to something bigger, more private. The Y was inspirational in that way. It inspired me to get the hell out of it.

When I got the second job unloading mail for 8 hours at night, I knew my prospects were looking up. But . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “YMCA.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “YMCA”

  1. Three men and four boys, decked out in boots and waders, carrying rods, tackle boxes, thermoses and lunch boxes, hiked single file along the narrow trail to the mountain stream. This was my 8th family reunion at the YMCA camp in Estes Park, Colorado and the first year I was allowed to go fishing with the men and my older cousins.

  2. The road to the YMCA wound off the main road, down a narrow alleyway, flanked by large , bearded, ancient banyans.Most of the road signs told you that you were headed towards race-course, a more popular getaway .You had to be with an old-timer to appreciate that the alleyway suddenly gave way to a large, spacious, brick-lined boulevard, with series of British-style bungalows, in all their unpretentious glory:the heart warming sight of the YMCA.

  3. The high adventure weekend always started out at the same branch of the YMCA in the city centre where we would all meet up to take part in the challenge. That meeting signalled the start of our travels to the wild woods and countryside, where we camped out and generally studied the wild life and birdlife that we missed so much in the concrete jungle of the city.

  4. …but I knew crap jobs like these would never lead me anywhere. At the end of my shift I handed in my two weeks notice, hunched my shoulders and made my way to Big Mike. I had vowed I would never deal drugs like my friends. But, like the inevitability of a car crash, I was bound to this. I stopped thinking, shoved something precious deep inside, into a box I’d likely never open again, and said, “hey” to Mike. A shark like grin spread across his face. “Jimmy…. ” He crossed his arms, “Looks like you finally got smart. Welcome to the good life, my friend.”

  5. Whenever I hear the mention of YMCA, I immediately think of the Village People and their catchy 1978 song. It was very popular during the disco era, and I remember the arm motions that went along with the song to spell out Y-M-C-A whenever it was mentioned in the lyrics. Those were fun times…

An open space for your story

