Reading List

My reading list grows longer and longer. A few things I want to read but haven’t yet include “Diet for a Hot Planet,” “The Virtual Self,” “Detroit: An American Autopsy” and “However Long the Night.” That looks like a long list, but I do read a lot. If you want to be a writer, you have to be a reader. If you’re looking for something good to read, check out my two book boards on Pinterest.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “reading list.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

8 thoughts on “Reading List”

  1. I’ve been reading a lot lately… mostly books copyrighted in the 1970s where men wore”dashing” scarves stuffed into the tops of shirts and women enjoyed wearing long velvet skirts. Romance in the 60s and 70s! I couldn’t even imagine wearing a long velvet skirt… and if a man approached me with a scarf I would chuckle and wonder what he was smoking. But reading those books reminds me of a simpler life… where cell phones couldn’t interrupt the moment and travel took time, allowing for all sorts of mishaps and mayhem. I’d like to bring that to my writing and kick people (including myself) out of our self-assured boxes.

  2. I have to say…I grew up in the 60’s and 70’s and never wore a long velvet skirt! Or had any male friends who wore dashing scarves. Maybe I just hung around in the wrong circles.:) But, you’re right, there is something to be said for not being constantly connected and running at high speed.

  3. That was my reply to April….hmm.. okay now here is my entry for “reading list”. I’ll get the hang of this eventually, ha ha.

    As her emotions oscillated between fear and anger, Claire thought about the evidence that was put against her in court. The most damning things were circumstantial at best: specimens of Colchicum autumnale and Allium ursinium in her root cellar, and her reading list of books about medicinal and poisonous plants.

  4. Once reading list is the reflection of the person who you are. Like the food you order, or the friends you have, clothes you wear, it is sacrosanct and personal.I like to think of all the books I have hitherto read as old friends whom I would like to pay a visit soon. I have a deep, personal and possessive relationship with my books. Those are something which I would never think of sharing with anyone.

  5. As a long time bibliophile, my reading list continues to grow. I’m certain that I won’t be able to read all the books on my list before I’m summoned to a “higher plane,” but I try to read on a daily basis. I’m in the habit of reading three to four books at a time. Some people can’t understand that about me, but I guess that’s one of the signs of an avid reader.

    Reading imparts knowledge. You can travel to far away places and learn about other cultures; live a romance or tragedy vicariously through a main character and most definitely, increase your vocabulary. All of this, from the comfort of your recliner or reading nook.

  6. My reading list grows exponentially, as I get interested in a subject, I tend to be reading and buying books all around the subject area. I then get interested in another area of thought and the cycle starts all over again. I have a separate list of must-reads that I tend to plunge into occasionally when time allows.

  7. On Stumbleupon, I came across one reading list after another. I am getting reacquainted with the idea of reading for the purpose of making me a better writer. I realized that there is an entire universe of reading material out there. All the time I spend on Facebook can be better spent reading.

  8. I have a reading list, or several. I have reading lists for genres, classic literature, and individual series like the Wheel of Time. It grows every time I turn on the Kindle Store or get an email from Amazon.com and see a sale or recommendation. I don’t pare it down like I do my TV list but I do move more interesting books to the top, insuring that I get to read what I find most appealing.

An open space for your story

