The Yellow Brick Road

I picked up a brochure in Lily’s cafe. Silly of me, since I was merely stopping to eat on my way through town. The brochure talked about the Victorian homes and brick streets in this small Colorado mountain town. One of the streets was called The Yellow Brick Road and led to a mining museum housed in a restored Victorian mansion.

Little did I know when I decided to go see that road and that museum that my life would be changed forever.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the yellow brick road.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

15 thoughts on “The Yellow Brick Road”

  1. Holding Elton John’s “Yellow Brick Road” album out like it was Exhibit A in a courtroom, I confronted my father.
    “Dad”! I exclaimed. “Track 2 skips! It didn’t skip before you borrowed it”.
    Dad looked up at me from behind his newspaper and said he didn’t know anything about it skipping.
    “I don’t want you borrowing my albums anymore”, I grumbled and flounced out of the room, full of teenage fury.

    1. LOL… Usually I would expect the reverse scenario… a kid borrowing his dad’s “vintage” recordings and the dad being upset by a scratch. So this made me chuckle. Great job.

      1. Thanks! This was actually a true story. i just changed the name of the album to fit the theme. Dad actually scratched “Madman Across the Water” LOL

  2. I’ve always been on my way somewhere. It’s hard to tell if you’re close to arriving when “where” is unknown.. Why couldn’t a tornado pick me up here and transport me to there so I could follow my own yellow brick road?

    1. A deep question that I think a lot of people ask themselves. The lack of answer starts most of us searching for our “place,” our sense of belonging. Thanks for making me think this morning!

    2. Thanks for the fun imagery. However, if I took the tornado, it would be just my luck that a house would fall on me. I think I’ll wait for the next hot air balloon to Oz.

  3. An element of meditation is being able to visualize. Visualize a forest, a beach scene, your favorite place or a path. How exquisite to imagine a yellow brick road as your path and the Emerald City as your Oz!

  4. He wasn’t the type of guy I was normally attracted to. In my experience most pretty boy types were all looks and no intelligence. He was at the museum by himself and seemed genuinely interested in the exhibits and what the tour guide had to say. He shared his town map with me and mentioned that he was visiting because his great grandfather had been a miner and he wanted to understand what his life had been like.
    We were married four months later.

  5. Roderick had won the Grand Prize at the Craft Fair with his architectural model of the Land of Oz, which included the Yellow Brick Road. It was to scale and had taken three months to complete as evidenced by the meticulous detail of its construction. A painstaking task that included working late into the night inclusive of weekends, but it had paid off—he was now $1, 000.00 dollars richer and knew exactly what he was going to do with it…

  6. Divers hunting for sunken ships containing treasure called a section of Cape Cod’s shifting sea floor, “The Yellow Brick Road, as the sea floor is literally sprinkled with gold dust from the wreck of a pirate ship”Whydah”
    Prospectors for gold take the rough, tough yellow brick road to the gold fields, returning with the gold in the form of yellow bricks.

  7. Brick roads , in my opinion, were supposed to be a shade of crimson the colour of terracotta.But this road was yellow! Like the’ road to heaven’ (apologies, Mr. G.K.Chesterton), sprinkled with yellow gold dust of prosperity . The bricks were well worn, having seen thousands of carts, caravans, mules, and chariots, thunder across its pale visage. Now , it lay desolate, a piece of hallowed history, waiting patiently, as a crowd of gadget laden tourists clicked snaps, flashes of blinding white light , bouncing off the yellow ochre surface . The road, a relic of the Roman era, being a celebrity in its own right.

An open space for your story

