In the Garage

Our neighborhood covenants require keeping your trash barrel in the garage or behind a fence. Keeps the neighborhood neat, it does. Yet walking through the garage to the scent of cantaloupe rinds or decaying chicken skin isn’t fun. That’s why I invented the garage deodorant door plugin. Replace one panel of your garage door with this handy plugin and your garage will never stink again. Only $29.59. Order now and get a mini plugin for your bathroom.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “in the garage.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “In the Garage”

  1. I stood with my hands on my hips looking up and down the street with dismay. All of the parking spaces were full. Every single one. I expected my guests to start arriving in a few minutes and there was nowhere for them to park. I was furious. If my neighbors would park their cars in their garages instead of mounds of junk we wouldn’t have a parking problem. I stormed into the house and picked up the phone.

  2. She kept her best secrets there… the stolen kiss with a substitute teacher who had come to her parents’ house warming party, her heartbreak when the kiss went nowhere and she was alone again, and then later, much later, her near suicide with the exhaust of her beat up Honda. Somehow she had made it through – sometimes by will, sometimes by luck. Watching the SOLD sign get pounded into the front lawn, she scrubbed a tear away. That garage held more than memories… It was a sacred space. She wished the new owners luck as she walked away.

  3. The rain was pelting down and it was freezing cold. I was standing at the bus stop waiting for a bus to take me to work. A friend driving by, shouted. “Hi John, where is your car? ” Through gritted teeth, I replied. “In the garage, getting repaired!” Then I thought to myself, I will give up food before I give up my car!

  4. There were three bags of her first born’s baby clothes in the garage. She was glad to donate them to someone who would be able to make use of them. There were items in the bag that still had the tags on. Waste not, want not was her motto. There was also other paraphernalia that she was going to give away, such as, two car seats, building blocks, a wooden train set, toys and books that looked like they’ve never been read, but in reality, they had been. It’s just that they had been well cared for—like most of the things she had bought for her son. Now it would be passed on to another deserving child, and she didn’t regret it at all.

An open space for your story

