Hold the baby

She wanted to hold the baby girl, but there was another and another. All waiting in bassinets stretching into the far corners of the room. She touched her as much as possible while changing her diaper – rubbed her arms and tummy, held her hand, stroked her cheek. So many forgotten and unwanted babies needing to be held. She . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “hold the baby.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Hold the baby”

  1. Jenny’s mom handed her the squirming infant. This bundle of gurgles and coos was her sister? Jenny’s 5 year old mind tried to comprehend the idea.
    “How did she get out of your tummy?”
    Her mom snatched up the camera. “Lots of effort, that’s how.”
    The baby pulled Jenny’s hair.

  2. “Would you like to hold the baby?” my friend, Susan, asked as she held the squirming infant.

    I hesitated. At 53, I was old enough to be a grandmother, but I’d never had children of my own or been around them was rather terrified of babies.

    But I looked at those large, brown eyes and my heart melted. Susan gently placed the baby chimpanzee in my arms.

  3. Finally, I got to hold the baby—my first granddaughter. She was truly beautiful—five fingers, five toes, a perfectly round head and big, brown eyes. Even at this tender age, I felt that she resembled her father.

    As I carried her, I felt I was in the presence of one of life’s greatest miracle—the miracle of new life, and it was personified in this little girl. I reveled in her alertness and the way she tried to look around, but most of all, I reveled in her presence. At that moment, I wished life would always be good to her so that she would be able to enjoy all the beautiful things it has to offer.

  4. Everything in the business was going downhill and we were headed for a financial disaster. The Managing Director called me into his office, and offered me a partnership if I could pull the business round. I agreed to take control, and a deal was thrashed out. It was only then I realised he was leaving me to hold the baby as he was retiring overseas.

  5. “Oh no, not again”
    She had just entered the washroom, and sat down on the commode to do her job, and the baby began wailing in earnest. Loud urgent ,sounds of crying filled the house.
    “Hold the baby, will you, please!”
    She called for her husband, busy as usual, with his laptop. Sounds of reluctant flip-flops shuffling, and she heaved a sigh of temporary relief.

An open space for your story

