Saturday

Those people who live across the street – in that house with green shutters – go to church on Saturday. I forget the name of that religion. I’ll think of it in a minute. Anyway, the lady who lives there won’t speak to her brothers and sisters or her parents because they don’t believe in her religion. If you run into her out by the mailbox or somewhere, she’ll invite you to her church.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “Saturday.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “Saturday”

  1. Funny, isn’t it? I’m trying to imagine myself tearing away from my siblings, my real blood family. Pretending like they don’t exist or they are all contaminated with a terrible disease because they won’t join me in my beliefs. While I turn my back on them, I can reach out to total strangers and offer love, friendship, loyalty. It’s amazing how the human mind can be so intelligent and so easily manipulated. It’s like their brain and their hearts are totally disconnected. I find that so terribly scary. I think I’ll stay very very far from my neighbor, just in case I get infected…..

  2. Whenever Sylvie heard the word Saturday, the first thing that came to her mind was the chant from the Bay City Roller’s song S-A-T-U-R-D-A-Y Night! It had been the motto of her college clique back in 1976. It brought back rocking memories, and it certainly made the highly anticipated weekend something to look forward to.

    But, oh, how the course of time changed things. The responsibilities of life and the passage of years bestowed on her an early maturity soon after college. All she had now were those good memories from her college years and one true blue college friend. The problem was that this friend lived in another country.

  3. The bright lights were blinding. So many masked, goggled faces in the overcrowded operating room. The combined smells of nervous perspiration and antiseptic were overpowering. Someone had garlic for lunch. Ugh. A modest woman, she was immediately uncomfortable as they undraped her body. Cold liquid applied to her abdomen ran down her sides.

  4. James could barely contain his enthusiasm as he rode the elevator. The glass walls let him see the contents of the entire mansion. Only the floors were opaque, giving them the appeal one has for a Christmas present.

    He looked to his companion, the tall and balding assistant of the late Dr. Henry Montague.

    “All of this is mine?”

    “All of it,” the aid replied. “But our first stop will be to answer one of your questions. You may note that this mansion does not account for the billions of dollars Dr. Montague possessed. This will. Next floor: Project Saturday.”

  5. “Today is Saturday. How can you be working on a saturday?”
    “We had our weekend yesterday. Gulf country , see?”
    “Oops!! I forgot again. Sorry dear!!”
    “Back to work. ” A sad smiley

    This is a common whatsapp exchange with my friends who live in the gulf. I simply can not seem to wrap my head around the fact that their weekend is a Friday. I must write it down on some calendar before I seriously offend someone.

An open space for your story

