Mashed Potatoes

She moaned in ecstacy as she read the menu. “They have mashed potatoes and gravy with their hamburgers,” she whispered. She leaned over the table and smiled, “Mashed potatoes are like heroin to me.”

I didn’t want to reveal myself too soon, but I knew what she meant. I feel that way about soft serve ice cream. I merely said, ” . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “mashed potatoes.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Mashed Potatoes”

  1. Jimmy looked down at his plate. Mashed potatoes again. It was mashed potatoes EVERY night. Mom had said that they were good for him. But he knew better. In winter, potatoes were cheaper than broccoli, carrots and cauliflower. His mouth watered at the idea of crunchy vegetables instead of mush.

  2. “Hey, Max!” Phil called out as he walked into the living room where Max, his roommate was seating reading the newspaper. “I just got accepted into the Culinary School in New Brunswick!”
    “That’s great, bud!” Max exclaimed putting down the newspaper.
    “I’ll start practicing by making dinner tonight. So, how do you like your potatoes, Max?” Phil asked.
    “I like mashed potatoes with plenty of gravy, of course.”
    “OK, then it’s settled. We’ll have that for dinner along with corn on the cob, a grilled sirloin steak au poivre and a Caesar salad.”
    “Sounds great, Phil. My mouth is watering already at the sound of that, so I’m not snacking on anything this afternoon. I wouldn’t want to spoil my appetite.”
    “You got it buddy! This would be a great time to put my culinary savvy to work before I start working on the gourmet stuff,” Phil said with a big smile on his face as he headed into the kitchen.

An open space for your story

