Skivvies

“I know you’re a serious Broadway star,” he said. “Serious. I get it.” He paused. “But I was serious when I said we perform in our underwear. I play the uke in my skivvies. The cello player does, too. Well, she wears panties and a bra.”

There was another long pause while he waited for some response. None came. “Look,” he said, “I’m sure you can figure something out. PJs or a bathrobe or something. And, the best part is, you get to pick the songs yourself.”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “skivvies.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Skivvies”

  1. I will never go shopping with my sister again! I had draped my clothes over the door because there were no hooks. I wasn’t going to put them on the floor. The commercial carpet was revolting. She had simply yanked my clothes and said that she was coming back with another dress. So here I am in the changing room in my skivvies. I peeked under the door. She wasn’t there. But there were a lot of other shoes and boots. Did she just walk out of the store and forget me?

  2. The cuckoo clock chimed. It was 5:30 in the morning, and Delphine came down the stairs in her skivvies. There was a chill in the air, and she quickened her step toward the closet by the hallway entrance. She pulled her husband’s sweat jacket from the closet and slipped into it. It was way oversized, but it didn’t matter; she felt relief as the warmth began to envelop her.

    The smell of freshly brewed coffee wafted from the coffee pot and stimulated her senses. After her first sip, she was in action mode—ready to tackle whatever came her way that morning. This was a ritual to her, and the only time it was broken was during the weekend when waking up that early was an option, not an obligation.

    Seeing her husband off was her cue to start doing things around the house that needed to be done before she could devote any time of leisure for herself. Once she started on her personal projects, she didn’t want to be distracted. So far, things seemed to be working out for her in this regard. She was happy and felt productive.

An open space for your story

