Writing

Where do you write? I don’t mean those moments when you’re at the computer or notebook – I mean those moments when you’re in your head putting words together that will come out later. I write in my sleep and I wake up with words arranged in my mind. I write in the car when I should be paying more attention to my driving. I write in the shower with soap in my hair. I write when I’m walking or raking leaves or vacuuming. Oh, face it, I’m always writing.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “writing.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “Writing”

  1. Writing is my passion and there’s something about hot water pounding on my body in the shower that gives me inspiration. Most of my new book, “Waggin Tales: Bogey’s Memoir” was created in just that fashion. Check it out at Amazon. So far, great reviews. Thanks, Maureen

  2. I love music. I pay close attention to the words. The beat, the style, the singer. Doesn’t matter. My brain automatically starts writing the events that lead to such meaningful emotions. It really has nothing to do with the real-life singer. LIKE YOU, from Evanescence is a runaway teenager who accompanies a man dying from aids. Every night, she sings him the song she composed as she longs so desperately to end her own painful existence. The lyrics trigger a scenario in my head… a trigger my boys and hubby would love to use to stop me from touching that repeat button a 45th time.

  3. When do I write? At first it seemed like a fairly straight forward question with a straight forward answer: I write when I am driving, I write under the shower, in bed before I fall asleep etc etc. But the more I think about it the more I realize that I am constantly writing in my head. Its how I think, its how I connect to the world. But how do I explain this to someone who doesn’t function in the same way? Shit… I need more words! πŸ˜‰

  4. I love to write
    and always writing in my mind
    no matter what I am doing.
    I go to sleep writing, drive down the road writing,
    and can’t wait to go to the computer and type about what I am
    writing in my mind.
    Since my mind stays so busy
    I practice mindfulness and it seems to be the only
    way I can completely clear my mind.

  5. Writing is liberating to me. It lets my imagination take flight and at times, I allow myself to live vicariously through my characters. I have no specific time that I devote to this task, but when I sit down with the intent to write, words and thoughts often materialize into a story or vignette. The idea could ensue from a mere observation or from a dream or from an imaginary situation. Whatever the stimulus, it allows my creativity to emerge.

  6. “What are you writing again?”
    How could she tell what was she writing?
    She herself had no notion of what she was going to write next.
    The words just poured out of her , tumbled out in waves of creativity, uncontrolled, as if possessed .
    Her writing seemed to possess a life of its own.Her own private sorcery, a magical Aladdin lamp of words.

An open space for your story

