My Cousin

My cousin and I look almost exactly alike. Whenever people see us together, they think we are twins. As kids, we didn’t think much about it. Now that we are grown up and have seen what the marriages of our respective parents have gone through, we discuss the option that we are actually half-sisters. One of these days, we’ll confront our parents with this question.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “my cousin.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “My Cousin”

  1. I hardly know my cousin. Our parents didn’t get along. I see her on rare occasions. Mostly funerals. I follow her on Facebook. We have a lot in common. It saddens me to think of all the occasions we missed to create fond childhood memories together. This leads me to wonder……is it too late to start a friendship?

  2. My cousins were aplenty when we were growing up.They came in all shapes, sizes, colours and gender when we were growing up. There were occasional get together which were the high points of our childhood. One in particular was a handsome hunk who send our hearts racing at the mere sight of him.He would have been our superstar had he not been a highschool failure.

  3. My cousin and I have the type of relationship where we can spend long periods of time without talking or seeing one another, yet when we come together, we pick up as if we had spent time with each other the day before. There have never been any recriminations or retaliatory attitudes. She understands me, and I understand her, and we consider ourselves lucky to be in each other’s life.

An open space for your story

