Talent

I saw a boy on Facebook playing drums on his mom’s empty washing machine. He used every part of the washer to creating a fabulous drum solo. The kid has amazing natural talent. What do you do if you don’t have amazing natural talent? What if you’re just a regular schlub who isn’t really sure what you’re extra good at? That’s problem most people face. I have some suggestions for the rest of us. . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “talent.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Talent”

  1. Talent: throw the ball faster, hit harder, run, go, move, move, move! You disappointed me today; we practiced this…what are you thinking? What are you doing? You have the talent! You’re wasting your talent! You have NO talent! This is what you want! This is what I want! Go!

  2. I took some painting classes a few years back. Everyone said that I had natural talent. It was flattering. But I felt like a phoney. The other painters practiced all week. I painted only DURING classes. I realised that painting was a hobby. Not a passion. They would speak of middle-of-the- night inspirations. I understand those sparks of excitement. But for me, it doesn’t happen on a canvas. It’s feeling the life experiences of the people living inside my head.

  3. After the instructor read a few of Rachel’s short stories, she commented on her innate talent as a natural storyteller. Aside from that, she also made mention of her pluckiness in not being afraid to share her work with her fellow classmates. To Rachel this had been a vote of confidence, and it inspired her to continue cranking out stories that allowed her imagination to take flight. It was one of the greatest gifts she possessed, and she was intent on continuing to cultivate it.

  4. “Talent? Let us not use such bombastic words .”
    “Natural inclination?”
    “Maybe”
    “Do you think there is any possibility of improvement ?”
    “You just need some polishing, that’s all.”
    “How do I do that ? How do I polish and hone my skills.”
    “You will know , by the by.”
    I hate cryptic answers and I hate people who talk in puzzles.I wish someone was more forthcoming..

An open space for your story

