Dirty Words

I recall exactly the day I first used a dirty word. The word was “shit.” I knew every dirty word, but I also knew I wasn’t allowed to use them. I was in junior high. I was at the swimming pool. I was walking on the deck near the shallow end and someone made me mad – don’t remember who. I uttered the word “shit.” I waited for lightening to strike or some other horrific event to beset me. Nothing. A watershed moment for my vocabulary, which went downhill at 120 mph after that.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “dirty words.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Dirty Words”

  1. When I was in school, words like ‘crap’, ‘pissed’, and ‘jackass’ were considered dirty words. Uttering such terms would have meant an immediate trip to the office and a phone call home. Today, middle schoolers have no problem tossing them around in the presence of any adult who may be within earshot. It would be easy to blame popular culture for this degradation, but I think the answer hits much closer to home.

  2. What determines if a particular word is dirty or not? Our prudence? Our overwhelming sense of uptight righteousness?Our belief in the religious heads ?
    History has proved to us time and again , that whatever was in vogue yesterday,is passe’ today. Nothing remains for ever. Neither do heroes, civilizations. monoliths, beliefs, faiths, ideals. Everything in this world has a shelf life. Even life as we know it , comes with an expiry date.
    How can we be sure that the so called “dirty word” is actually dirty , and to be shunned by all and sundry. I personally think, “dirty words ” or expletives actually help you emphasise a certain point, and drive home certain opinions, in certain circumstances.
    They too have their uses. Basically, they are like exclamatory noises, and should be treated as such, without the moral hand -wringing that accompanies every cuss-word heard or uttered.

  3. Dirty words were the first thing Nicky learned when she started to learn a language. She felt it was important to know if someone was cursing you out in another language, and she wanted to have the leverage to understand and answer back. She already mastered four languages fluently, and she hadn’t been insulted in any of them, yet, but she always liked to be prepared.

  4. I heard, as a kid, people cussing up a storm, and there were no consequences; but if I uttered “damn” or anything else no one worries about, I was a terrible deamon child and it was a BIG motherfuckin’ federal case. And origionally I didn’t use such “naughty” language, but I know there is some stress relief in muttering”son of a bitch” under our breath.

An open space for your story

