I’m Reading

I’m reading. Are you? What are you reading today? I just finished Words Will Break Cement: The Passion of Pussy Riot by Masha Gessen. That book that should be in the pocket of every person marching because #BlackLivesMatter. Now I’m about halfway through The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez. I’m thinking Cristina Henriquez may turn out to be one of my favorite writers.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic, “I’m reading.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “I’m Reading”

  1. I’m reading this really great book called “The idea of justice”, by Amartya Sen. I finished ” The Scarlet Letter” a few weeks ago, but the strange thing about that book is that no matter how many new books I read, I keep going back to it. It is so amazing. I still have loads to read! 🙂 (Guess this is 50 words)

  2. “Sarah, do you want to play Xbox?”
    “I’m reading.”
    “Do you want to ride bikes?”
    “I’m reading.”
    “Do you want to watch a movie, I’ll get ‘Home Alone’?”
    “I’m reading.”
    “Will you build a Lego with me?”
    “I’m reading.”
    “Can you help me make a snack?”
    “I’m reading.”
    “Can you tell me a story?”
    “Ok… Once upon a time there was a beautiful princess who was reading one of her favorite books. She was pestered incessantly by the young prince wanted to do a million things other than letting her read this book in peace; so she gave him a choice. Either he grabbed a book and started reading himself, or he would find himself locked in the deep, dark dungeon until the King and Queen returned from their royal duties later in the day.”

  3. I am reading, or rather, making a valiant attempt at reading a book called ” A History of the Arab Peoples” by Albert Hourani.
    It is full of , as one would expect a history book to be, wars , campaigns, palace intrigues , and such like things. What interests me however , is the human angle to these stories. There are stories of stupendous courage, valour, loyalty, at the same time, not without their fair share of betrayals and treachery.
    It is very human, and has actually happened in recorded human history. So, they “ring with truth”. Hence the overwhelming voyeuristic appeal to historical tales. You feel as if you are watching the story unfold in a bygone era, one eye on a peephole, being the quintessential ‘peeping tom’!

  4. I’m surrounded by three Emma’s. I am reading about two of them. First is by Jane Austen in German translation. This brings a new twist to the book I love so much. And another Emma by Alexander McCall Smith. And then there is a beautiful flower, whom I do not read but simply enjoy: my new-born daughter Emma. (This little post is a true story happening right now. 🙂 )

  5. I’m reading at the present time a book by Katy Butler titled “*Knocking on Heaven’s Door.*” It’s a memoir of a journalist who struggles to provide her parents the last wishes for a “good death” while battling with the forces of modern medicine, technology and pharmaceutical companies that stood in the way. Definitely a powerful read.

An open space for your story

