My Favorite

In the summer my favorite thing to do is go to the zoo. I can do it once a week and not get tired of it. I love the giraffes. They’re so graceful and calm. There’s a man who sometimes enters the giraffe’s enclosure to clean or deliver food. I like to watch him, too. I love the way he moves, the way his zoo shirt clings to his shoulders, the way he bends and walks. One of these days . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “my favorite.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite”

  1. It was the first weekend of the year. Having already set free the bears, she resolved it would be a great idea to release the elephants, liberate the parrots and let loose the giraffes. Leaving all the doors to all the cages open she smiled and headed off to Seaworld.

  2. My favorite time of the day is early in the morning or late at night. It’s when the world is too sleepy to get up or too wide awake to go to bed. Everything is quiet, and it’s the time with the least amount of interruptions. The early morning is the best time to read, write or meditate and once you’ve accomplished any of these things, you’ve set the pace for the day.

An open space for your story

