Time to Eat

When Eddie was a kid, he never had time to eat. Mum would call him to the table 3 or 4 times before he could stop what he was doing and come join us. When he finally sat down, he would gobble his way through his food without a word until he said, “May I be excused?” Then he would dash away. Eddie was the same way about sleeping, which he declared a waste of time. He . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “time to eat.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

9 thoughts on “Time to Eat”

  1. They knocked on her door late in the evening. She was hesitant to open the door to them, but they looked so pathetic she felt sorry for them. The woman was emaciated beyond belief, the man was thin as a scarecrow. As she entered the living room where they sat with plates of food, they bared their fangs at her. “Time to eat!” they hollered.

  2. Eat? Who has time to eat? There are so many other things I’d prefer doing with my time. There are toys to play with; there are so many galaxies to explore. My imagination is growling, it’s the only thing I want to feed, my stomach will just have to wait.

  3. Whatever it was waiting for us in those bowls, you can bet I’d be plugging my nose and holding my breath to get through it. Expiry dates were meant to be boiled and “wish” stew was a staple. It was 1977 and grandpa was determined to feed us the depression…

  4. Eating time too quickly may cause heartburn. It is best to slowly pour the time into your bowl, let it sit a few minutes to cool, then gently lower your spoon in and gather your own small pool of time. Lift it to your lips, blow, chew carefully. Inhale. Exhale. Repeat until your bowl of time is empty.

      1. Thank you Nataki – I don’t always succeed when I try to remember to go slow, enjoy things and remember to breathe – and fortunately I can start again right when I realize I’d forgotten. All the best to you!

      2. You are very welcome! we all can learn from this! that is the beauty that once you realize it you can begin again.

  5. “Time to eat!!”
    She always had to salvage situations at family get-togethers with her culinary assiduity.
    Fights invariably broke out between siblings;all these years had not mellowed them at all. Rather, sharpening of razor’s edge words and hurtful words became a norm.
    “Time to eat !!”
    She would parrot, a forced smile dancing nervously on her lips , as everyone else scowled at each other and her. She felt like a lone peacemaker in a war-zone.

  6. When I was young, I remember my mother calling out every time she prepared a meal, “Time to eat!” It would always annoy me because I didn’t want to stop what I was doing. I remember always thinking, “Again?”

    As a seasoned adult, I enjoy food tremendously. Its preparation, presentation and definitely its taste. I find tremendous pleasure in eating it as I allow the different textures and flavors to coat and penetrate my taste buds. I find it rewarding and thank God for every meal I’m able to consume. It’s one of the little pleasures I have in life.

An open space for your story

