Best Book

I used to read books aloud to my fourth graders. Year after year I read the same books. “Super Fudge,” “The Secret Garden,” “A Wrinkle in Time.” Some made us laugh, some made us cry, some made us wonder or dream. I think reading all those wonderful books aloud is one of the things I miss most about being an elementary school teacher.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “best book.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

9 thoughts on “Best Book”

  1. Caryn closed the book slowly. She pondered on the surprise ending and thought it was the best book she had read in a long time. She looked forward to hearing the opinions of her book club members at their next meeting and was glad to have finished the book on time. The meeting was only three days away.

  2. I love books. I love reading.

    But to name the best book I have ever read? Impossible.

    I read a variety of genres, from auto/biographies, fantasy, dystopian, classics, young adult, literature, science fiction . . . the list goes on and on. I could probably name for you my favorite book out of each genre, but that would still take me forever to do so, as I would have to debate between the merits of at least two to three books for each category.

    Quite frankly, the best books are those which offer well-developed characters, interesting plot lines, and a chance for me to escape from life for a while each day.

  3. Best book?
    Now , that s really puzzling! Let’s see.
    It is difficult!If you have three-four languages / genres to choose from.
    By far, I think the best book for me would be Salman Rushdie’s “Midnight Children”.I read it as an adolescent, and can still recall most of the scenes/dialogues. It left an indelible impression then, and is like an endearing relative, ageing but well-loved.
    Second best would be “Madhushala” By Bachchan. An timeless classic.

  4. Page after page his eyes ran across the words as if he couldn’t read them fast enough. He knew it was wrong but it was too delicious to put down. All of her most dark and inner secrets were available to him all with the pick of a lock. He devoured each entry while he reminded himself that she could walk in any minute and catch him in the act. How could he not know how she really felt about him after all these years? Her words were strewn with passion but her actions revealed otherwise. It was the best book he’d ever read. He finally put it down and rested on her bed. He knew he would have to put everything back the way it was but for now he revealed in an ego induced bliss. She wanted him. No, she craved him. No… she loved him. Really loved him. .

An open space for your story

