Happiest

Be Happy

He was social and smiling as a child, but as he grew older he was happiest when he was alone. He didn’t like being touched and was hesitant to hug his aunts and uncles. It used to hurt me. I took it personally. Now, all these years later I know what it was and I realize what a great guy he is – just as he is.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “happiest” or on some topic suggested by the photo.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “Happiest”

  1. i’m happiest when I have my bills paid and i’m not being hassled are stressed about bills…I love and am very proud of my ability to pay my way…then have some ice cream alone…in my cave with my internet

  2. I am my happiest when I am reading. I love when the physical world has shrunk to just me, coffee, maybe some music (just depending on my mood) and my book . . . and the world inside the book becomes all-encompassing.

    I am an odd person. I like to spend time alone. I like to escape the trials and tribulations of the day by crawling into a book, escaping into my mind, and being carried away.

    The remainder is here: https://standinginacorner.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/happiest/

  3. I am happiest when I’m doing one of these three things: reading, writing or listening to music (classical, opera, pop, disco, salsa, etc., etc). In my times of leisure, I may enjoy doing other things, but these are mainly the ones I love doing. They provide me the respite from the quotidian drudgery of life. They allow me the time to reflect, sharpen my intellect and satisfy my aural sense.

    1. .”They provide me the respite from the quotidian drudgery of life. They allow me the time to reflect, sharpen my intellect and satisfy my aural sense.”

      …those words and the overall statement; perfection. Reminds me of why I love writing and writers.

  4. I am happiest when I am reminded of the beauty of life . . . Such as when I look at that picture of the little boy, his shy smile, his readiness to clap his hands. I am happiest when a child is treasured, understood and valued. I am happiest when I recall special moments when I was a child.

  5. “Happiest?”
    “Yes.”
    “Now, let’s see.When I held my first born in my arms, cheeks wet and cold, eyes tightly shut, red faced from a full blown wail, and still smelling faintly of blood, through the carbolic of the hospital towel and blanket.”
    “You were happiest?”
    “Yes! Why the doubt?”
    “Nothing!!Just that you didn’t smile when you said that.”
    “Oh!! I see!”

An open space for your story

