Hallelujah

She smiled at the class. “Hallelujah, brethern,” she said. “You just finished a working web site.” A couple of the class members smiled back at her joke. She went on to detail everything they had accomplished in the last few hours. Then she sent them home feeling good. What a day!

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “Hallelujah.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Hallelujah”

  1. I threw my purple pen down and stretched my arms over my head, smiling slightly as the muscles extended and my back cracked. I blew out a deep breath, feeling all my worries expel out into the surrounding environment.

    My smile grew even wider as I surveyed the finished product before me. Sitting on my desk were 54 graded term papers, all ready to be passed back to students.

    Hallelujah! The semester was almost over!

  2. Hallelujah! Abegg pushed the desk chair away from the desk and got up when it came to a stop as it hit the wall. The story was completed. Now came the task of editing, but she didn’t want to think about that. She would let her last creation be for a couple of weeks before she started editing and revising.

    She decided to do what she always did after finishing a writing project—go out and celebrate. She went to her desk and reached for the phone.

  3. “Hallelujah!!!Praise the Lord!!”
    The small classroom rang out with so many baby voices .Voicing their thanks , as their “sister”, the class teacher had taught them to , instead of going for whoop-eing in war-like joyous cries whenever the power supply was resumed.
    In their small, town, power cuts were frequent, and summers severe.
    So , when the fans came alive, so did their sagging and sweaty and spirits.
    “Hallelujah!!”

  4. “Hallelujah” is a word one should not speak during Lent – or so I’m told. I keep hallelujahing all day long to my heart’s desire, and feel entirely unapologetic – which, given the slightly shocked and indignant faces that occasionally turn my way is one reason more to joyfully shout aloud: Hallelujah!

An open space for your story

