Skates

Spinning Wheels

Nowadays skaters stand on boards. Inline skates have replaced the four-wheel clip-on skates I learned to whiz around on. My neighbor exercises on inline skates. Up one side of the block and down the other. Then do it again. On the downhill side she goes faster than a car. On the uphill side she works hard. The perfect exercise. A bit of work, a bit of glee, then do it again.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “skates” or on some topic suggested by the photo.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Skates”

  1. I realize how carefree I was when I was a kid; completely fearless, always in the moment, and ready for the next adventure. I wanted to be a daredevil, a spy, and an animal whisperer. Now, I sit at a desk and drink coffee till there are holes in my stomach. It’s fine, I still use my imagination. My first pair of roller blades aka inline skates— my cousin knew more about this cool footwear than I did at the time. He filled my head with all the fun we could have and how I far and fast we would be able to travel. It wasn’t like a bike, it was much more exhilarating. Of course my daring sportsman image was ruined with knee pads, elbow pads and a big clunky helmet; my mother practically nailed them to my body. It didn’t matter; we skated to our hearts content. Every weekend, I was there armed and ready to learn the next trick and to test our speed and cunning. The excitement of it eventually grew out of me. Now when I remember, I couldn’t believe that I would even attempt anything like that. I think of bruises, broken bones, and gashed lips from eating the asphalt. I wish to feel fearless again and skate over the world.

  2. Whenever I hear the word “skates” I think of the 1971 pop song by Melanie titled “Brand New Key” where she mentions that she has a brand new pair of roller skates and her apparent love interest had a brand new key. I immediately liked it because of the fact that those were the kind of skates I used to skate in—the ones that needed a key.

    Initially, I thought it was a catchy tune because of the music, and I didn’t think much of it when I first heard it. But as it continued to be played on the radio, I started to listen to the lyrics more closely and caught on to the double entendre of the words. To this day, I still remember the words.

An open space for your story

