The Perfect Place

Who knew Grandma had money? She sure didn’t act like she did. But she left me almost $4 million dollars when she passed. I’m trying to figure out where to go. I want to live in the perfect place. I definitely want to get out of Denver. Maybe I’ll go to Spain or Italy. I speak quite a bit of Spanish. Or maybe I’ll move to Canada, except it’s too cold. How about up in the mountains? I love mountains. Are there mountains in Spain?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the perfect place.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “The Perfect Place”

  1. I plan on wandering till I find the place that feels like home. I don’t think I’m there yet, even though I was born and raised in Los Angeles and I love the energy, the uneasiness in my bones and the restlessness in my soul, tells me otherwise; maybe a vineyard, or artist’s cottage, or tiny cramped apartment in the middle of some urban hustle and bustle. Who knows what the perfect place will look like or be? Maybe it’ll be in the arms of someone— even though I’ll never trust another with my safe keeping again. Maybe I just need to be on a different planet all together.

  2. Carla stood in front of the brick cottage where she used to go for vacations and took a deep breath. Finally! She had fulfilled one of her life long dreams—to live in the Tuscan region of Italy. She had thought about this for the longest time, and now after purchasing the cottage, the thought had materialized. She wanted to spend whatever time of her life that God had alloted her in this worldly realm savoring delectable food and drinking superb wines. To Carla, that was the perfect place.

  3. Chandipur , where she went as a baby, with her parents. Collecting clam shells at low-tide , and watching the sea sweep away her new flip-flops in one swift swirl of froth, at high tide.
    Sitting on slippery rocks, waiting for the sun to drown itself in the vast blue expanse, while making garlands out of fragrant oleanders.
    Smelling the sea-saltiness, while eating toast and egg, as waves repeatedly crashed on the rocks , in a relentless foamy rage.
    Now, that was a perfect place, where time stood still and stared at the sea with her.

  4. The perfect place is one where you can wake up in the morning, pick a focal point, and develop many pleasant thoughts. There are probably several of those places in our great country. Because it is great for mental health, everyone should find a perfect place. It’s worth the effort.

An open space for your story

