The Phone

Two old women sat on the bus in the seat behind me. I could hear every word they spoke. They picked at each other like an old married couple – maybe they were an old married couple.

“How could you forget your phone?” said lady on my left.

“It was charging. I forgot!” said lady to the right.

Left side said, “I never go anywhere without my phone.” She scoffed. “I can’t believe you did this!” There was a pause and she started in again. “What if something happens to you today? Did you think about that? What if you need help?”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the phone.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “The Phone”

  1. I dreaded every call and text message; for some time my phone became the enemy. The memories both haunted me and destroyed me. There were pictures we had taken just a couple weeks before and text messages we had sent back and forth; some loving, some not so loving, some down right hateful. I guess it was all building up to that dark day. I’m still confused. I have a new phone now and a fresh start. I have new pictures and new messages; all positive, all loving. Here’s one now!… Oh no, it’s you. It’s you. I almost wish I’d forget my password so I’m unable to unlock it and read your irksome and ignorant messages that give me anxiety— “You’re selfish,” “You weren’t on my side,” “I apologized for what I did to you,” “You’re keeping him away from me,” “I don’t love you anymore.” My phone flew out of my hand again and crashed into the wall. Oops.

  2. The phone rang and her heart started pounding in her chest. She looked at the caller ID and knew the call was from him. She had not talked to him in years, and that thought made her even more nervous. She had tracked him down because she needed to know he was well. She needed to make things right because she remembered things hadn’t ended well during their last meeting over coffee. That was 16 years ago.

    She had not relegated him into the dark hole of oblivion. How could she? He had been a very important part of her life. She always remembered him on his birthday, when Christmas came around, when she heard a particular song he had liked, whenever she saw his favorite hockey or collegiate football team on TV, but specially, on the date of their wedding, 26 years ago.

    She wandered if he ever thought of her, too. She figured she’d soon find out as she reached for the handset saying, “Hello.”

  3. The phone rang.
    A cold dread clutched her heart.
    This was the third consecutive night , she had been getting these blank calls. She was alone in the house with her two kids; her husband away on official tour; and someone knew.
    Some one with the temerity to call her up in the middle of the night, and breathe heavily into the phone when answered.
    Who could it be? and why?
    She banged the receiver down and stood at the first floor window, parting the curtains just a wee bit to see the ghostly lawn awash with silvery moonlight.
    A silent dark shape loomed right beneath her window, and the phone rang again………

An open space for your story

