The Good News

I was on my knees in the dirt planting lettuce when my 16-year-old found me. He seemed a little disheveled. I sat back on my heels at looked at him.

“The good news,” he said, “is that I didn’t go though anything but the door.”

“Uh huh.” Warily, I asked, “What door would that be?”

“Tony’s garage door,” he answered. “But it isn’t as bad as it sounds. See, . . . ”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the good news.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “The Good News”

  1. I woke up this morning, frantic. I was late for work. After going through my whole routine, hurriedly, I dressed and ran down stairs. I dashed around my apartment, knowing I was forgetting something. I made it to the kitchen where there was a pot of coffee already percolated. Score.

  2. Munna bounded up the stairs two at a time and plonked himself on the green rexine sofa, panting, eyes wide with terror.
    People poured into the room, somberly, silently. All eyes were on Munna, still struggling with his breath.
    Someone was callous enough to sidle upto him and ask in loud whisper,” The child is dead.Isn’t he ?”
    Munna recoiled from him in horror, and started screaming , hysterically, “I haven’t done anything, maine kuch nahin kiya!” Over and over again , like a stricken parrot.
    At this point, grandpa entered the room, and raised his hand. Munna immediately clammed up.
    “The good news is , it is a mere fracture.”
    The doctors briefcase was ever so gently placed on the centre table.
    The entire room breathed easy.

  3. The good news arrived for Miriam via a phone call from her daughter-in-law, Kaley—she was going to be a grandmother. Miriam couldn’t be any happier. She was blessed. Even though she didn’t have childen of her own, God had smiled upon her when she met her current husband who already had two grown children of his own. She would get to experience the joy of being called Grandma.

An open space for your story

