Handshake

She sat down in the theater seat next to me. I felt her looking at me. Then she said, “You’re Cindy Dawson,” and stuck her hand my way for a handshake. I looked at her. I had no idea who she was, but I extended my hand as well. “I’m from Hamilton, too,” she said.

What were the odds of two English women from Hamilton sitting down side by side in a New York theater? “Do I know you?” I asked. She . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “handshake.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Handshake”

  1. frowned. She obviously expected me to know her. I attempted a save, “oh wait, you are that one person back in Hamilton who-” “who took a spiritual awakening trip to Nepal and came back broke in more ways than one, yes. Penelope.” I nodded, it worked. “Ah, yes, how could I forget you? Oh dear, what an unfortunate scam. Well, you are looking much better now; That gown looks splendid on you.” She fumbled with a piece of the champagne fabric in her hands. “It does, doesn’t it?” She smiled demurely. She seemed about to say more, but the lights dimmed and the scene on stage took priority- reducing her last words to an unutterable whisper I could care less about.

  2. She folded her hands in the traditional salutation”Namaste”!
    He thrust his hand out for a handshake. She hesitated for a second, and he had folded his palms up, in a replying “namaste”.
    This was so embarrassing!! Here she was , clad in jeans and T-shirt, an oversized, middle aged woman , meeting her husband’s boss for the first time , and instead of being cocksure and confident, she must have come across as a wish-washy housewife.
    She sighed as she picked up the darkest fluid , coke , proffered by a liveried bearer.

  3. It was raining heavily as Declan and Meghan made their way into the country club. They were overjoyed to see valet parking was available, so they knew they wouldn’t need to be packing umbrellas. Everyone was gathered in the area designated for the cocktail hour; some were sitting and others were standing or just mingling about.

    The first person that came to greet us was one of Declan’s colleagues from the prep school. As he extended his hand after being introduced to Meghan, she noticed his handshake to be limp and not at all firm. Meghan thought it was tantamount to holding a dead fish. She had always been good at reading body language, and his action had left her with a negative impression. Before the night was over, her initial impression was confirmed.

An open space for your story

