For real this time

“I promise it will never happen again.” He stared at me, looking for some measure of forgiveness in my eyes. “I know I’ve said that before, but I mean it for real this time.”

I turned and walked away. I stood at the big window for a while, overlooking the pines and the valley below. Then I went back to the guest room.

“Pack your stuff. You’re leaving.”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “for real this time.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “For real this time”

  1. “Okay for real this time.” The teacher forgot again the panic these words cause me. I could feel the blood drain from my face as the uncontrollable panic flooded through me. Ten minutes later she walked through the aisles collecting the papers, mine of course was still blank. She paused….

  2. I’m fine. How are you? I’m fine. Always the same answer. Always rushed, passing each other, heading in opposite directions, our bodies there, rushing, our minds… somewhere else. Stressing, obsessing, planning minutely for things that will never turn out as we think. Stop. Come out of your head and look at me, for real. Try again. How are you. Tell me, for real this time. I’m listening.

  3. She had decided to quit her job. It was for real this time. She was tired of being exploited and putting up with inept individuals. She was finally going to take flight; be liberated. No more getting up early, meeting deadlines, compiling monthly and quarterly reports or going to countless and unproductive meetings. Now, she was going to own her time and would be able to concentrate on doing the things that were always put on the back burner because of insufficient time. It was time to set her world on fire.

  4. She stood at the terminus with her trolley at her knee, scrutinising the billboard. Her kids sat a little distance away, immersed in ipads and other technology. She breathed the air-freshener scented air deep, filling her lungs. Her husband appeared , struggling with an overladen tray of coffee, she had this sudden rush of gratitude. To God, and to all His minions.
    She was going on a holiday. For real this time . Thank God . After ages . No more drooling over pictures in the travel brochures. She could visit the place for real this time .

An open space for your story

