A Brain Break

The disk is full and must be reformatted. That’s what my brain is telling me each night as it scatters and misfires and returns to the same strange waking dreams. My brain needs a break. I know what is required. Air, trees, water, lots  of walking, maybe a lunch in a backpack and a camera round my neck. Yes, a break.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “a brain break.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “A Brain Break”

  1. Sometimes it just gets to be too much: Worrying about bills, money, work, my son . . . and then adding in the day-to-day annoyances, like someone cutting me off in traffic or a nasty email from a student . . .

    And I need a brain break.

    It can be something as simple as getting away from technology and going outside. Sometimes I need to veg out and watch a movie. Other times it’s cranking up music and dancing around the room haphazardly. Or it’s time with a book, a cup of coffee, and/or my paper journal.

    Anything to clear away the cobwebs.

  2. I haven’t had a brain break in years. I think I had a psychotic break a while back,but it was never confirmed. My brain runs non-stop 24-7. At any given time, I have thoughts, a song, and the voice of my inner psychologist yammering on ad nauseum. Ain’t life grand?

  3. A brain break is needed on a daily basis, and the most prolonged one is attained by a restful sleep. It allows the brain to shut down and at times embark on its own surreal journeys of dreams. Dreams which could be remembered vividly at times, but may not be recalled at other times; and it may be from these recalled dreams that ideas and stories can sprout.

  4. My brain needs a rest. The day has been long jumping from one emergency to the next. the new staff hired create two new fires for each one they put out. By the end of the day my brain is broken in many ways and needs a rest. I fear one day it will be broke before I can get to the glorious rest it needs.

  5. My brain is frying. Am I trying too hard? Being creative should be easy, but it’s not. I don’t have writer’s block. However I can’t get the words I want. I don’t read enough. That’s the problem. I want to write. I’m thinking too much. My brain needs a break.

  6. Dennis Hartwell worked long hours without rest. It’s okay he proclaims, “I’m acclimated to it.” Indeed he was masterful at what he did, he could complete job after job with no complaint.

    But after twenty-three years as a neurosurgeon, and a grueling 12 hour procedure he exclaimed, “I need a brain break!”

An open space for your story

