A Master Plan

Ever since I was about 8 years old, I’ve had a master plan for my life. I started out perfect – high school, college, a job. The thing is, I couldn’t find the right person to marry. I was beginning to think I should just marry someone who had the right genetics to be a good parent. Or maybe even live the next part of my life as a single parent. When I met . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “a master plan.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

8 thoughts on “A Master Plan”

  1. Although I have always had plans for my life, I have never thought of them as master. This is because someway somehow, a somebody somewhere always vetoed my plans.

    I am usually not happy when our are parallel, but it turns out His plans are always better.

    God; master planner.

  2. A “master plan”, huh. At eight years old, I thought I had such a thing. I was going to become a lawyer like my cousin Angela. She had her own money, her own apartment, her own life. From where I sat, it looked like she didn’t take orders from anybody. Now I’m closing in on thirty-eight years old and…I’m not a lawyer, I don’t have the money I thought my cousin Angela had (hell, I barely have enough to live on), I don’t have my own apartment (I mean, I live here, but somebody else OWNS this building), and while my life belongs to me, everybody and their brother seems to feel entitled to tell me what I should be doing with it. So much for master plans.

  3. an administrator. And what an administrator she was. She was everything a woman should not be. An ardent politician, master-planner, manipulator, trickster, gossip and a meanie. Then I got to know that no master plan can be successful when you have a master planner on your team. For she takes over all the planning and we do all the executing. So I leave the planning to her and disappear from the scene, hoping she makes a mess of things and one day falls into the trap she has created for others so often.

  4. When one hears the words master plan, it is usually in the context of a question, such as “what is your master plan for life?” This brings to mind tasks of monumental proportion, a life spent pursuing a vision of oneself that if actually attained can often be disappointing. How many people do you know right now that are working in a field not congruent with their degree?

    We evolve, even if you’re not a believer in evolution, how can we be expected at eighteen to map out the rest of our lives, we’re still kids. My suggestion is to make short term plans, and try to master them.

  5. A master plan is just that—a plan, and not all plans come to fruition. There’s always some circumstance, event or someone that interferes with a well-formulated plan. In life, things can’t be planned too far in advance because stuff simply happens.

  6. My master plan was to rule the universe and bring peace and harmony everywhere I went, with a cool plan to assure equality for all. Nobody was to be hungry, unhappy, poor or feel unloved. Such futility: I can’t even achieve that within my own family.

  7. If life had taught her anything , it was that , life follows no master plans .
    We are all slaves of destiny , and whether we like it or not , life -force is like a relentless tide , which sweeps every one and everything in its path .
    So she was swept up in a maelstrom of motherhood, matrimony , and caring for elderly.
    Today , she waited at the airport lounge , waiting for her flight home , sipping her morning coffee, and wondering what she had missed out on…….

An open space for your story

