Ant

Ant antics - don't miss the details - zoom in

The monster ants of summer are here. Most people who have trouble with ants get those tiny ones parading through the kitchen, but not me. Nope, I get these lone monsters who are big enough to carry off a shoe. They appear in the strangest places: the dishwasher, the ceiling, circling on the carpet like lost souls. This year I decided I wasn’t going to take it anymore. I . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “ant” or on some topic suggested by the photo.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

9 thoughts on “Ant”

  1. The ant, only one, crawled across my kitchen floor, I startled into a sudden state of terror. There was only one but ants are relational creatures, avid adherents to community. If I see one ant, I know there are many ants nearby. My emotions flood my mind with memories of an ants painful sting, an experience I don’t want to repeat. With determination born of self-preservation, I stomp it!

  2. I am going to move out till they move out. I have packed my sugars and spices and all thats nice and everything that ants love, and I am off.
    Tata, little friends. You can have the run of my house, till I come back but when i come back in the fall, I need you all gone. Grr !

  3. I am the forgotten
    The mercissly trodden
    My existence is comprised of
    Building, rebuilding, rebuilding, rebuilding

    I am a warrior

    Possessing a strength unknown to man
    A scavenger taking only what I need
    Yet ruthless enough
    To slay the beasts of Earth
    Leaving in my wake
    Hollowed corpses polished to the bone.

  4. It happens every summer. First there’s one ant, then there’s a whole fucking line of them, marching to I don’t know where. I usually spot them in the kitchen (of course, they smell the food and they march on t he fridge, the sons of bitches), and my sister and I get to whacking them with shoes & rolled up newspapers. We spray Raid near the back door, her saying “Ant fuckers, every goddamn year,” as the kitchen fills up with that noxious stench. And sure enough, ten minutes after we spray Raid, there’s one ant, then there’s a goddamned line of them, marching triumphantly. We live in a house in a good part of Brooklyn, my sister and I; we are not slobs. YES, the house was built in the 1920s, but we’ve kept up with renovations and maintenance, so why then are we under attack every summer from the ant bastards? And send help!

  5. “…that little old ant think he can move that rubber tree plant. Everyone knows and ant can’t move a rubber tree plant.” Over and Over the lyrics kept flying through Brad’s mind. “Little old …” “I’d like to kill that little bastard ant.” Brad thought. “…high hopes…” Brad looked lay back and looked through the bars in to the courtyard.

  6. Flying carefully not to be detected, the ladybug follows a string of ants. Where there is an ant there are aphids. The lady bug is rapturous over the prospect, Aphids are the nectar from the gods. If he can get eat up a few and take off before the ants attack this will be the best day of his life.

  7. A cafe scene in Hitchcock’s The Birds always gives me the chills. Flocks of birds fly past and an ornithologist explains that they outnumber us and if they ever got together we would have no chance. It could be my imagination, but lately there are hordes of ants in every nook and cranny of my house and my dog Fluffy lies dead on our front lawn.

  8. An ant purposefully strode up to the kitchen counter and grabbed a stray piece of bread crumb in its mouth.
    Then she marched back the same way.
    On her way back she met scores of her mates who rubbed antennae with her, exchanged notes, till finally , one good friend decided to relieve her of the load , so she could go and collect some more.
    This one ant looked like the Alexander the Great amongst the foragers, leading from the front , sniffing out all the grains and crumbs and goodies, invisible even to the human eye.
    I watched helplessly as my kitchen countertop was raided by determined hordes of campaigning, marauding hungry ants

An open space for your story

