Walk the Line

“Tell me about yourself.”

“Well, I’m a straight arrow, a walk the line kind of guy. I play by the rules. I can do exactly what you want, exactly the way you want it.”

“I see. Do you consider yourself a creative thinker?”

“Sure, everyone is creative. I like to decorate my cubical as much as the next person.”

“Thanks for coming in, but we can’t use you.”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “walk the line.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Walk the Line”

  1. “WALK the line, Ma’am”, the State trooper said.

    I opened the driver’s side door, stepped out of my Manolo Blahnik heels, & stumbled out of the car. “Walk the line,” I muttered, taking position on the double yellow line as though it was a tightrope. One foot slowly in front of the other, arms extended, I walked that line, trying to pretend I didn’t have gin on my breath.

  2. Walk the Line I thought to myself. But then my inner voice said I would be jumping the queue. I struggled with that voice. Jumping the queue would be cheating. I am not a cheater. Staring at the line, wanting to be at the front. I took the plunge. I am at the front.

  3. Whenever I hear the phrase of “Walk the Line,” I think of Johnny Cash as the author of this song from the late 1950s. It’s got a catchy recurring phrase that goes like this: …because you’re mine, I walk the line.

  4. Hustle, Hustle! Look alive, men. Stand up straight! Suck in that gut. Square those shoulders. You are the most pathetic bunch of recruits I’ve ever seen. When I walk the line for inspection I want to see G.I.Joe, not Joe College or Joe Cool, is that clear? “Yes Sir!”

  5. “Walk the line , girls.”
    A teacher bellowed and the prefects echoed.
    “Walk the line ladies.”
    “Walk the line sissies.”
    So on and so forth. Every day the same cry after school assembly, as they were herded back into class rooms, like cows.
    Anju felt she could strangulate them with bare hands, someday.
    “That is not gonna happen.”
    The kind , round face of Preethi poked into her reverie.This girl is a serious psychic.Thought Anju.
    “What?Why?”
    “Because in two years, you will be there,” she jerked her head towards the dais , quickly brushing off hair from her eyes,” yelling at the rest of us.”

    The prophecy came true.Two years later.
    “Walk the line , everybody.”
    A full throated cry. Anju , on dais, met Preethi’s eye, and smiled , wistfully.
    Preeti gave a thumbs up, and disappeared into the crowd.

An open space for your story

